Vegan Dessert

Talking amongst friends today about my disappointing vegan chocolate spice cake, I realized how futile the whole process was. In doing this vegan dessert, I’m being forced to take out two of the best baking ingredients – butter and eggs. And replacing them with silken tofu and vegetable oil.

My first attempt did fluff up nicely. It looked and smelled delicious. One bite later and it felt like I had a void of emptiness in my mouth. Strange that the cake was so bland but I think the tofu just sucked all the potential for flavor out of the cake. Second attempts with more cocoa powder, cinnamon, and chipotle puree are on the horizon for the near future…

Leave a Reply

