Having my cake, eating eating it too

I’ve been at a crossroads for a while now.  Should I fully commit to this pastry stuff? Easier hours, significantly less stress, potential for more money. Or should I go back to what got me into this in the first place, savory cooking?

At my current restaurant, there’s a limited amount for me in terms of growth left for me.  Its great to have the creative freedom to do whatever with dessert wise, but I have no one there to help me with expand on those skills. On the savory side, I’m tired of cooking the same things day in and day out. More than overdue for a change, I took a line cook job at another restaurant.  I’m looking forward to seasonal menu changes and daily specials.

But back to having my cake and eating it too, I get to stay on at Alewife as the part-time pastry chef.  So no fear, I’ll still be making delicious cheesecakes and sinful doughnuts.  I still have the dessert version of the smoke burger on deck.

Leave a Reply

