Silver!


The picture really doesn’t do my plate justice because I snapped it after the judge played with my food a little bit. It was a very eventful weekend. Five of us from the school packed up a big truck to go to Schenectady, New York to participate in the competition on Saturday. A series of unfortunate events, too much rain, crazy directions through the middle of New Jersey, not being able to print out recipe packets, and finally an ambulance ride all led up Lisa and I not being able to compete until Sunday.

Which turned out to be a very good thing. I was able to listen in on the critiques from the Chef that would be judging us, which put the both of us in a better position. We both decided to replate our dishes and add a few little extras. We also got slotted to go at 7AM in the morning, so our food was probably the first food our tasting judges were eating. And yes it was tasty on its own, but you know that when you’re hungry, everything tastes that much better. And for some reason, the chef judges were just being plain HELPFUL. I don’t know if it was because they felt bad for us, but we constantly were asked if everything was all right, if we needed anything, I even got a little help with a special mandolin.

All in all it was a great experience. Funny that I popped what I thought would have been my last bite of the chicken stuffed chicken in my mouth, and then ten minutes later found myself being talked into tightening up a few things on my plate to compete in a professional competition with the possibility of winning a gold medal and a prize.

* A HUGE thanks to everyone that has helped, tasted, and generally put up with my chicken stuffed chicken these past SIX months. It blows my mind still that this dish has come so far!

Leave a Reply

