Chicken Nuggets & Ketchup

Not everything that comes out of my kitchen is a fancy french masterpiece. After all, the person who eats the majority of my cooking is a two and a half. Unfortunately before the storm, I didn’t have a chance to run up to Sam’s Club and load up on his favorite two-year-old indulgences (mainly chicken nuggets and ketchup) so in a stroke of insanity, I decided to make them from scratch.

I mean, I’m going to culinary school, surely this can’t be that hard? The problem was that both the chicken nuggets and ketchup made from scratch were gooooooooood and now I might have raised his culinary expectations a bit too high.
Chicken Nuggets
  • 1 package french fried onions
  • 4 eggs, scrambled
  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into appropriate sized pieces
  • Canola or vegetable oil (for frying)
I’ve always seen this recipe on the french onion can when making Thanksgiving green bean casserole. Dump the french fried onions into a zip lock bag. Using a rolling pin, roll over the onions creating a bread-crumb-like mixture. I guess retrospectively, this part isn’t really directly from scratch, but I’ve cooked so many things using the standard bread procedure (flour, egg wash, breadcrumbs), kind of wanted something different.
Dip chicken pieces first into egg wash and then put a few pieces directly into the zip lock bag with the onion crumbs. Shake the bag to get a nice coating. Remove and fry for a few minutes on each side. (If you a paranoid about chicken like me, you can throw them in the oven for a few minutes to ensure that they have cooked through. But with small pieces the frying should be fine).
Ketchup
I’m one of those parents that doesn’t want their child to ingest the ultimate evil, High Fructose Corn Syrup. So he’s not (really) allowed to eat regular ketchup. Unfortunately, we were out of organic ketchup. And what good are chicken nuggets without the ketchup? In his eyes they are mutually exclusive. So it was either give up my no-high fructose corn syrup ideals or whip up some ketchup.
Ended up mixing about 1 cup of tomato paste, 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 (heaping) tablespoons onion powder, and 1 tablespoon salt. It worked…or at least my son thought so. But then again he’ll eat just about anything that comes out of my kitchen.
Leave a Reply

