Golden Brown Delicious

SEAR YOUR MEAT BEFORE YOU STEW/BRAISE IT.

Please don’t serve (especially me) meat that has not been. Because it will taste like boiled meat. And boiled meat does not taste good. Golden brown = delicious. Simple enough.

I got into an “argument” with my aunt about this. She didn’t believe me that it would make any sort of difference to this dish that she always makes. I told her that I seared off the chicken pieces before I made the dish and then watched the dish get completely devoured. Anyways…her dish still always tastes good…just not great. So here’s to one of my favorite comfort foods, a little jazzed up.

Chicken Adobo

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken legs
  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 1 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 4 minced cloves garlic
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

This is classic Philippino comfort food! Coat the bottom of a saute pan with the olive oil and sear (until golden brown delicious) the pieces of chicken. In a separate sauce pan, add vinegar, soy sauce, garlic, and bay leaf. Bring to a boil and reduce to a steady simmer. Add chicken to this and continue to cook until liquid has reduced.

Serve over rice and enjoy!

I’m away from my precious kitchen for the weekend and will not be cooking in my aunt’s kitchen. [Insert very sad face here]. So I’ll just settle on dreaming of all the fancy things on the menu for next week. Toothbrush chef still hasn’t come through with a class schedule/menu but in advanced cooking we’ll be doing a braised rabbit in a chocolate wine sauce with mushroom ravioli and spinach. Holy crap…I have to cook bunny!

Leave a Reply

