Lazy Sunday

One of my favorite things to do is to throw a bunch of stuff in a pot and call it chili. And then leave it to cook allllllllllllll day long. Yesterday was such a slow, cold, and rainy day that I thought the perfect thing to do would be to make some chili. Now I’ve made a chili a bunch of different ways in the past few years, and no chili I make is ever exactly the same. It usually ends up being whatever meat/bean/tomato product happens to be laying about. This one turned out to be a little fancier and sweeter than usual since I used red wine and caramelized onions.

Fancy Pants Chili

Ingredients

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1/2 lb black eyed peas (pre-soaked and drained)
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 3 slices bacon
  • Salt & chili powder to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon hot sauce

Method:

  1. Slice the bacon into 1 inch pieces. Render the bacon fat in a thick bottomed sauce pan. (I prefer using my big cast-iron sauce pan for this. Also, I know that I’ve slammed my previous chef for the amount of bacon used in culinary school…but like I said it was just one of those days. Needed that extra level of comfort in my food.)
  2. Add the chopped onions. Saute until onions have turned a light brown color.
  3. Deglaze with red wine.
  4. Add ground beef and saute until all meat has browned.
  5. Add both cans of tomatoes and beans. Add salt, chili powder, and hot sauce. And taste, taste, taste! Everyone likes different levels of salt/hotness in their food and the only way to get it perfect is keep tasting it!
  6. Lower heat and leave to simmer for 2-4 hours.

We ate this with a little cornbread yesterday for lunch and plan on making chili-cheese dogs for lunch today.

Leave a Reply

