Self Confessed Francophile

My true inspiration to become a great haute chef came from this.

Yeah…he’s a little crazy, maybe even a little demonic. BUT he clearly LOVES what he does. And he must have cooked some amazing fish. After all, like my Toothbrush Mustache Chef said, “cooking is the labor of love.” Food cooked by someone who loves to do it always tastes truly better. And the French, well they really love their food.

I look back at the seventh grade and wish I could have successfully talked my parents into taking French instead of Spanish. They didn’t think French was a practical choice of the two languages. I would have gone to visit France instead of Spain at 16. I would have probably chosen to go to culinary school a lot sooner than now. Things would have been different, but I can’t dwell on the past. What I can do is do something about it now. Unfortunately there will be no Paris trips in my future, first off I have a horrible understanding of the language. I can maybe read some French cooking terms just because I’ve gone through enough French cook books. But that wouldn’t get me terribly far. So I’ll just have to settle on dreaming about dropping out of culinary school in Baltimore, quitting my job, abandoning my house and flitting off to France to enroll in Le Cordon Bleu.

Unfortunately, last night instead of getting to cook some lovely french classic cuisine, we had to LISTEN about it’s history for 3.5 hours. Getting a little twitchy. I WANT TO COOK. I’m going to cook Coq au Vin at home before class because I still have a whole chicken and half bottle of wine in my refrigerator.

Coq au Vin (Non-traditional) — Just made from the stuff I had laying around, not really the exact way to do it. It was still good!

Ingredients:

  • Two chicken legs, thighs, and wings
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic minced
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 750 mL of red wine (small bottle or about 4 cups)
  • Salt & Pepper

Method:

  1. Coat bottom of a saute pan with olive oil. Cook onions until translucent. Add garlic and cook until soft.
  2. Add chicken skin side down and cook until golden brown delicious (just enough to get the color on the outside, not cooked all the way through).
  3. Set chicken aside in a baking pan. Deglaze the saute pan with red wine. Reduce this sauce to about half. Stir in tomatoes.
  4. Pour sauce over chicken and bake for 30 minutes. The chicken will be amazingly tender and will fall right off the bone. Eat this with a baguette to sop up all that marvelous sauce!
One thought on “Self Confessed Francophile

Leave a Reply

