It was good…

Maybe I am a little obsessed with chicken at the moment? Just like Jimmy McNaulty on The Wire, when I get into something I really really get into it. So I made two more attempts at improving the fried chicken wings.

Attempt #2:

The exact same thing as attempt #1 except that in my contempt for my friend, I dumped a whole mess of cayenne pepper and chili powder on the chicken. This was still not hot enough.

Attempt #3:

To try and get the wings crispier I tried using Bisquick instead of flour. This made absolutely no difference.

Attempt #4:

This is Attempt #2’s chicken (with all the extra cayenne and chili powder) that marinated in the refrigerator for a day and a half (mainly because I was sick of frying chicken). And in a stroke of genius, instead of egg wash I decided to use hot sauce to get the flour to stick onto the chicken wings. What’s funny is that this hair brained idea actually worked. The chicken wings turned out the same sickly orange color the spicy chicken wings from the fast food places come out. They were really yummy and the flavor was on point (I guess since they got to marinate), but they still weren’t spicy enough. I think I’ve cracked it though, just need to find some really good hot sauce now. According to the friend (who after this experiment might not be a friend anymore), they were good! But still only 60% there (up from the 10% that my first attempt was at).

On another note…that chicken that was sitting in my refrigerator brining turned out lovely today for lunch. Was planning on making chicken salad out of leftovers, but once again was left with a picked clean carcass.

Roasted Apple Cider Brined Chicken

Ingredients:

  • Chicken
  • Brine
  • Butter

Method:

  1. Setup a roasting rack inside of a sheetpan. Remove chicken from brine (set aside brine). Do not forget about all the brine that was dumped inside of the chicken (I did because I was mildly distracted when trying to do this and got chicken brine all over my table). Truss the chicken and place on roasting rack.
  2. Pour brine into a small saucepan and set on high heat. Reduce brine about halfway. When brine has reduced, remove from heat and add about 1-2 tablespoons of butter that are at room temperature and cut into small pieces. Slowly stir in butter.
  3. Use this to glaze the chicken.
  4. Place in oven at 375F for 1 hour (or until the thigh meat reads 165F). I cook with a convection oven so my time’s might be a bit different.

Oh and that hard to please friend, also thought this chicken was good.

Leave a Reply

